NaNoWriMo is coming…

November is National Novel Writing Month, which is a way cooler holiday than any ol’ silly Columbus Day, and yet vastly under-appreciated.  Like Cultural Awareness month.  And being both bold and ambitious, I’m going to partake this year.  For those unfamiliar with the practice, the goal is to write 50,000 words in 30 days.  Morgan Spurlock should make a show about that!  But seriously, you cannot use a previously written draft or anything.  Starting on Nov 1st and ending on Nov 30th, 50,000 words.  My writer’s group did the math and it comes out to 1,666.666, etc. words per day.  Or 3 pages, single-space in 12pt Times New Roman.  Did I mention that I’m a nerd?

This is a weighty task for any writer, let alone someone like me.  I’m looking forward to a more kamikaze style of writing, where I don’t self-edit my stories into the abyss before they see the light of day.  I’m writing a rather dystopian story, about a society fallen, and the people living in its ruins.  A little urban primitive, a little evil global science conglomerate, genetic engineering, strange new abilities and a big crazy adventure.  Intrigue, spiritualism, science!  How is that for a plot synopsis?

My question is point-of-view.  Would it be better for pacing to have the prolonged tribal perspective before introducing more complex elements?  Or should I intersperse settings and points-of-view evenly throughout?  I know that this all only matters in the writing of it, but this is my puzzle.

Everyone should take a crack at writing a novel.  It doesn’t have to be complex or groundbreaking.  It doesn’t have to be a New York Times Bestseller.  It just has to be yours.  There is no prize for writing 50,000 words in 30 days.  Well, I mean there is.  You wrote a novel.  You do it because you can, because you have one story that you absolutely must put down in writing.  Check it out here: NaNoWriMo.  They even have a program for young writers.  At the least, read a book or two in November, and think of all the people that want to write new stories for you.

Leave a Reply

