Twitter Will Doom Us All…

I should clarify a few things here.  I don’t have any sort of fancy bachelor’s degree.  I’ve taken a few classes and made it half way through culinary.  Doesn’t mean I don’t know anything, just that I don’t have credentials to back up my opinions.  That being said, I feel that social media via the internet will doom us all to complacency, pushing us further and further away from close personal relationships.  And man will it play heck with the English language.  Really, I think the language part bothers me the most.

I love the English language, with its counter-intuitive spelling constructs, its odd dipthongs and the rare beauty of a language cobbled together out of spare parts from every other language.  And I understand that a language like English will only continue to evolve.  But I don’t know how I feel when we start erasing grammatical constructs and shortening words so that they’ll fit within a 140-character tweet that has a link attached.

And books!  Nobody reads!  Well why the hell not?!?!?

And that’s not true, lots of people still read.  But there are huge numbers of people who go: “Books?  I read a magazine once.”  Because reading is a chore.  Sure, I’m biased as a writer.  I want people to buy and read books so that they will one day buy and read mine.  But I have spent the majority of my life with my nose buried in a book.  I love the texture of paper under my fingertips, the feel of a worn paperback cover.  Maybe I’m just a huge dork.  I don’t care.  I love books.

But now there are e-books.  E-BOOKS!  &*$&%*$ Kindle!  Because we need one more piece of technology to carry around with us.  Sure, maybe they are better for the environment.  Less paper used, right?  I like the trees too and I don’t want to run out of them.  But then again, I like post-apocalyptic fiction.  I think I could survive your apocalypse situation du jour better than your average John Cusack.  Between recycling plants and hemp paper, I think we can keep the trees and the paper.  Sure, hardcovers suck.  So find a more durable paperback.  It would be so much cooler.  Maybe we can make it some sort of holo-book, but with some actual page to turn.  It could download books.  A crazy hybrid book/e-reader.

So yes.  I greatly fear that technology is gradually taking over our lives, making them too easy.  I feel that it makes us lose touch with the world around us, isolates us.  Not to say that I don’t enjoy its perks, I am most certainly a product of the Digital Age.  But we should all step away from the computer, pick up a book and go outside.  Sit in a sunny spot in the park and read a book.  Or just go for a walk.  But the book-reading part is great.  And let’s please try and spell things properly.  R U getting me?

One thought on “Twitter Will Doom Us All…

  1. Justin says:

    I completely agree. I’ve noticed this when talking to students. A lot of the ones I advised had a hard time coming in and talking with me. They would much rather send me an email or if they could a facebook note. I can’t really say anything about how it screws up the English language because I’ve been doing that my whole life without the help of text messages or twitter.

    As for the fact that no one reads books anymore, it is very sad. When I hit up the library it pains me to see so many people in the movie section and barely anyone in the stacks. They are even stocking video games at the library now. Although I must confess, I do have a Sony eReader. It was a gift from my brother on my birthday (he was updating to a kindle and I got the old one). However, I use it only some of the time. You are right, there is just something about the feel of a book in your hands and the smell of the pages, especially if it is older or used. Sadly more and more people are getting away from this.

Leave a Reply

